Beware the False Prophet

I said, “Oh no, Lord GOD, you have certainly deceived this people and Jerusalem, by announcing, ‘You will have peace,’ while a sword is at our throats.”

Jeremiah 4:10

Chapter 4 begins with God urging his people to return to him or face utter disaster so complete the kings and leaders will be taken by surprise. Evidently, they have been listening to the false prophets instead of Jeremiah’s warnings. And Jeremiah, not only does he know and speak the true Word of God, but he also recognizes that those false prophets are only believed because God has allowed it!

“The LORD asked him, ‘How? ‘ “He said, ‘I will go and become a lying spirit in the mouth of all his prophets.’ “Then he said, ‘You will certainly entice him and prevail. Go and do that.’ “You see, the LORD has put a lying spirit into the mouth of all these prophets of yours, and the LORD has pronounced disaster against you.”

1 Kings 22:22-23

Oh my God! May I have discernment to not be deceived by false prophets, false teachings, and false narratives. May I never so insistently pursue disobedience that God allows me to fool myself. May I always remember that God is the creator and sustainer of all things. He is my Lord and my God, help me to follow Him all my days.

Leave a comment